Radiohead Album Rumours

The summer of 2003 sees the return of old hands Radiohead whose new album, the Republican-baiting-ly named 'Hail to the Thief” is released on June 9, and features 14 tracks recorded in Los Angeles as well as Oxfordshire in ol' Blighty over the course of last year. 'Hail to the Thief' is again co-produced by Nigel Godrich, who has worked with the band since 1995.

Rumours have been circulating as to the sound of the new album, with purists hoping for a return to the use of guitars that the early-Radiohead were so fond of. And have they? Early reports shows indication of a slight return to their old electric ways, but with electro-influenced tracks such as 'Backdrifts' , 'Sit Down Stand Up' and 'The Gloaming', all songs which would sit quite comfortably in either 'Amnesiac' or 'Kid A'. There seems to be a more intimidating atmosphere to 'Hail to the Thief' with the piano-led 'We Suck Young Blood', a morbid proposition in more than name alone; and the stark 'Where I End and You Begin', a cauldron of bass and drums duelling before imploding on itself in a fiery finish. Add the electrifying '2+2=5' and you find a Radiohead that has not reverted to their old ways just quite yet; instead they have added a bit of zest to their techno intensity.

After a sold-out indoor tour, Radiohead will be headlining several summer festivals including Glastonbury on June 28, and their first single off the album will be 'There There', released on May 26th.

Share this!