James Announce New Album

UK alternative band James are proud to announce the release of their new album All The Colours Of You on June 4, 2021 via Virgin Music Label & Artist Services (formerly Caroline International). Recorded in part before the Covid pandemic struck, the album was produced by the Grammy award-winning Jacknife Lee (Taylor Swift, U2, REM’s, Snow Patrol, The Killers). Fans can hear the title track “All The Colours Of You” on all streaming services now.

The songs on the new album were directly influenced by what bandleader and frontman Tim Booth experienced during a nearly apocalyptic time; with the pandemic raging while wildfires burned so close to Booth’s home that he had to evacuate three times over the course of a few months. The lyrics reflect the intense emotions Booth was experiencing, living as an expat in Los Angeles as the US was buffeted by ever-increasing political chaos in the last year of Trump’s presidency.

Matching the energy of the lyrics, producer Jacknife Lee brought a fresh approach to James’ sound, working remotely from his studio with Booth (Lee’s Topanga Canyon neighbour) and liaising in a daisy chain with fellow band member Jim Glennie, reimagining their demos, and capturing the band in all their virtual glory. 

The result is a record with the most arena ready tracks of their 38-year career, the sound of one of Britain’s best bands, deconstructed and reassembled by one of the world’s most renowned producers.

Tim Booth says “With all the shit that went down in 2020 this was a miraculous conception and another big jump forward for us on the back of the last three albums. I hope it reflects the colours of these crazy times. Sweet 16 is a proper album, no fillers and is up there with our best.”
Bassist Jim Glennie says “I’m pleased, proud and surprised by this record in equal amounts. Jacknife has pushed us and the songs somewhere new and it’s very exciting. After all these years, we are still challenging ourselves and our fans.” 

From the first line on album opener “ZERO”, ‘We’re all gonna die’, Tim addresses many difficult subjects throughout the 11 tracks, with themes ranging from politics and climate change, to dealing with the loss of a loved one during the pandemic. 

Lead track “All The Colours Of You” tackles the Trump years head on. Based in the US for many years, Tim witnessed first-hand the divisiveness and hatred stoked by the former President. Highlighting the sharp rise of white supremacy during his reign, the track ultimately offers a glimmer of hope, a new and brighter future with the refrain ‘Love all the colours, all the colours of you’. 

“Beautiful Beaches” focuses on the fires that ravaged California over the summer and came distressingly close to Tim and his family’s home. The song came after a vision Tim had of an earthquake and fires, which caused his family to race for refuge on beautiful beaches ‘That life we left behind, we’re racing down to those beautiful beaches’. “Recover” is perhaps the most poignant track on the record, dealing with the death of Tim’s father-in-law from Covid-19 in the UK. A hopeful track, with a delicate production, it’s an uplifting and joyful song about honouring a loved one’s legacy and spirit, a celebration of life not the sadness of death ‘We will remember how to pass your spirit on’.  

Since their breakthrough single in 1991, “Sit Down”, James have released fifteen studio albums, selling over 25 million copies in the process, and performed countless headline shows and festivals across the world. Many in the US will know James from their 1993 hit “Laid” which charted on the Billboard Hot 100, was featured as the theme song to the American Pie movies and has appeared numerous times in film and tv over the years. They continue to be a huge live draw, having sold 60,000 tickets for a UK arena tour scheduled for this November and December; a tour which has sold faster than any previous James tour. Their last US tour dates were a 2019 sold out, national run of shows with the Psychedelic Furs. James are British music’s enduring gem. Says Booth, “The truth is we felt we were built to last.”

2. All The Colours Of You
3. Recover
4. Beautiful Beaches
5. Wherever It Takes Us
6. Hush
7. Miss America
8. Getting Myself Into
9. Magic Bus
10. Isabella
11. XYST

Share this!