CALEB LANDRY JONES shares new single & video “The Loon”

Last month, just after winning the Best Actor award at Cannes, Caleb Landry Jones announced his new album, ‘Gadzooks, Vol. 1′ for release on September 24th on Sacred Bones. Today he returns today with The Loon,” the follow-up to lead single, Bogie.

“The Loon” is another acid-soaked preview of ‘Gadzooks Vol 1.‘ accompanied by a music video directed, shot and edited by Jones’ regular collaborator Jacqueline Castel. In the video Jones assumes the role of a renaissance clown seated at a vanity, both examining himself and inhabiting the surreal reflection before him. “Your world’s not like mine, though my eyes are yours,” Jones sings in a falsetto. “The Loon” doubles down on its idiosyncrasies, with Jones describing “rings of fire and time” just before the track reaches its climax. Jones is captivating in “The Loon,” highlighting his creativity as both an actor and musician.

Castel describes The Loon” video as: “Part dream, part nightmare, The Loon is a psychedelic portrait of the multiple identities and inter-dimensional realities that exist inside oneself – a subconscious circus of the sublime and the grotesque.”

Other links:

Just a few months after recording ‘The Mother Stone’, ‘Gadzooks Vol. 1′ was written in Albuquerque, New Mexico while filming the dystopian themed film, Finch, alongside Tom Hanks. “I stole from what was around me, what fell out of the television, what passed below my windows, relationships, old and new. My frustrations, desires, day dreams and fears scattered themselves throughout my writing,” says Caleb. “It is a direct response to the album before it. I felt whatever I wrote next needed to be more consistent. I knew that I wanted to put everything down on tape. I wanted the same players as before but to go further.” He’d idle away his hours on location by focusing on creativity, and when filming stopped, Caleb knew he had to get straight back into the studio. 

Caleb would soon link with the same cast who formed The Mother Stone, including producer Nic Jodoin, based out of the elegant Valentine Recording Studio in Los Angeles. Together, they would work 18-hour days, bringing Caleb’s vision into focus. Recording to tape, Caleb would hack away at each take, reassembling the songs like Escher diagrams. “It’s like when you’re swimming in the pool and you’re doing a bit of butterfly, and then that gets old after a while. So then you start doing breaststroke, and then that gets old after a while. I think it’s just a reaction from the place where we were before.” 

Part of a flood-tide of creativity – as its title suggests, a second half to this album is already on the horizon. 

‘Gadzooks Vol. 1’ track list:
1. Never Wet
2. Yesterday Will Come
3. The Loon
4. Bogie
5. Gloria
6. California
7. For A Short Time
8. A Slice of Dream
9. This Won’t Come Back

Share this!