Baby Strange release ‘Only Feel It When I’m With You’ music video ft. Hayley Mary of The Jezabels

Baby Strange’s moody recent single ‘Only Feel It When I’m With You’, which features guest vocals from The Jezabels’ Hayley Mary now has a darkly brooding music video to match its post-punk feel, complete with an appearance from Hayley herself. A creative departure from the band’s signature sound, ‘Only Feel It When I’m With You’ builds upon the new textures and sounds delivered with the surprise drop of taster single ‘Midnight’ and its anthemic follow up ‘Under The Surface’ at the start of the year. Baby Strange also recently released the track ‘Poor Old Me’, which sees vocalist and guitarist Johnny Madden reflecting upon personal struggles with his mental health and the crippling sinking feeling that so many can relate to: “Is there a reason that I feel so down? // With my head in my hands as I’m lying in pain on the ground // Sometimes I feel I wanna run away // Feels like a Monday on a Saturday”

All of the aforementioned compositions collide in the melting pot of an album that is ‘World Below’, which was just released via Icons Creating Evil Art. It’s 10 songs that pull the listener through a myriad of textures, sounds & emotions, completed with an array of artwork that generates a visual accompaniment for the topics set out within. Brought to life by Glasgow-based visual animator Bovine, the artwork explores the ‘World Below’ as an alternative reality that offers an insight into the bitter promises of late stage capitalism. Written as a reaction to how the pandemic has played havoc with mental health, the increasingly visible class divide and the meteoric rise of food banks across the country, ‘World Below’ is an album that explores the paradox of the topics set out within. It’s a narrative on the seemingly alternate universe we suddenly find ourselves living in, which has in fact become our new reality.

You can catch Baby Strange on tour across the UK in September. 

1. World Below
2. Beating In Time
3. Under The Surface
4. Only Feel It When I’m With You (ft. Hayley Mary)
5. Poor Old Me
6. When It Calls
7. Higher 
8. 0141
9. I Feel So Cold But It’s Warm Outside
10. Midnight

16 Sept  Aberdeen The Tunnels
17 Sept  Huddersfield Venn Street Social
18 Sept  Manchester Night & Day
20 Sept  Brighton The Hope & Ruin
21 Sept  London Shacklewell Arms
22 Sept  Bournemouth 60 Million Postcards
24 Sept  Bristol The Lanes 

Share this!