Heart Shaped Box Set

Geffen/UME is set to release the much-anticipated 3-CD/1-DVD Nirvana box set,
'With The Lights Out' on November 23, 2004. The box set contains 81 tracks,
68 which were previously unreleased.

The box set spans Nirvana's entire career, from a recording of Led Zeppelin's
“Heartbreaker” at the band's first show in 1987 to solo acoustic performances
from singer-guitarist Kurt Cobain in 1994. With The Lights Out features a
60-page colour booklet with rare photos and liner notes by Sonic Youth's
Thurston Moore and writer Neil Strauss.

The three CDs, arranged largely chronologically contains home and
rehearsal demos, including for “Smells Like Teen Spirit” (whose lyric
“With the lights out” provides the set's title), “Rape Me,” “Heart
Shaped Box” and a trio penned by legendary bluesman Leadbelly.

Heard in the 12 previously unreleased solo acoustic tracks are such gems
as “All Apologies,” “Lithium” and “Sliver.” Six previously unreleased
radio performances range from “Anorexorcist” in 1987 to “Dumb” in 1991
(two years before it was on 1993's In Utero). Along with the remaining
debuts are a handful of earlier issued, though rare, b-sides and demos
as well as the original Butch Vig mix of “Smells Like Teen Spirit.”

Highlighted on the With The Lights Out DVD is a previously unreleased
video of nine songs performed in 1988 at bassist Krist Novoselic's
mother's house in Aberdeen, Washington; the rare “In Bloom” Sub Pop
music video, and 10 never-before-seen live performances. Noteworthy
among them are debut renditions of “Pennyroyal Tea”, “Smells Like Teen
Spirit” both from early 1991. Also premiering is an unlikely performance
of Jacques Brel and Rod McKuen's “Seasons In The Sun”, as butchered by Westlife
in modern history, shot at a Rio de Janeiro studio.

See the complete track listing @ link

Share this!