Isobel Campbell & Mark Laneghan team up

Scottish chanteuse Isobel Campbell has inked a long term worldwide recording deal with V2 Records. Isobel, formally of Belle & Sebastian, has spent the initial part of this year completing work on ‘Ballad of the Broken Seas’, the collaborative album recorded with former Screaming Trees & Queens of the Stone Age singer, Mark Lanegan. Although much of the album was recorded with Campbell in her native Glasgow, and Lanegan in Los Angeles, the two actually came together in the studio in L.A. in May to cut a number of new tracks for the release, including a new Lanegan penned song, ‘Revolver’ and a version of the traditional blues tune, ‘St James Infirmary’. Isobel initially met Mark Lanegan in Glasgow while he was on tour with Queens Of The Stoneage. Professing to be a big fan of her music, Lanegan made an offhand comment about how he would love for them to make a record together. Isobel took the idea and ran with it, writing a number of songs with Lanegan in mind, communicating with him via the internet, and posting over tracks for him to add his vocals to.

The first release under the V2 deal will be a FREE download-only track due out in the UK on 28th November entitled “Deus Ibi Est” available from here: link and link . ‘Ballad of the Broken Seas’ is scheduled to follow on Janurary 30th 2006 with “Ramblin Man” to be released as a download and 7” single on 23rd Jan. Campbell plans to follow that up later in 2006 with a second album; the more folk oriented ‘Milk White Sheets’

Full track listing for ‘Ballad of the Broken Seas’, which is produced by Isobel Campbell, is as follows:

1. Deus Ibi Est
2. Black Mountain
3. The False Husband
4. Ballad Of The Broken Seas
5. Revolver
6. Ramblin' Man
7. (Do You Wanna) Come Walk With Me?
8. Saturday's Gone
9. It's Hard To Kill A Bad Thing
10.Honey Child What Can I Do?
11. Dusty Wreath
12. The Circus Is Leaving Town

Live dates are planned for February.

Share this!