Who's in your Corner?

Richard Hawley for COLES CORNER, has been short-listed for the Pop Award alongside Kate Bush's AERIAL and Gorillaz DEMON DAYS.

The awards, started by the series editor and presenter Melvyn Bragg, are unique in that they span the whole range of the arts in Britain. There are twelve categories: theatre, film, dance, classical music, pop music, opera, literature, comedy, visual arts and TV drama. The event opens with a live musical performance, there are special awards sponsored by Arts Council England and The Times (for Best Breakthrough Artist), and the day climaxes with the presentation of an award for Outstanding Achievement in the Arts.

The list of previous winners and presenters at the awards includes Richard Curtis, Ewan McGregor, Harold Pinter, Ricky Gervais, Mitsuko Uchida, Blur, Salman Rushdie, Peter Hall, Tony and Cherie Blair, Sir James Galway, Sir Simon Rattle, Simon Keenleyside, Sophie Dahl, Richard Eyre, Tracey Emin, Yehudi Menuhin, André Previn, Ken Loach, Lesley Garrett, Anish Kapoor, Seamus Heaney, Bryn Terfel, Chris Ofili, Simon Rattle, John Tomlinson, Bernard Hatinink, James Nesbitt, Nicholas Hytner, Helen Mirren, Barbara Bonney, The League of Gentlemen, Norman Wisdom, Franz Ferdinand, Rhys Ifans, Kiri Te Kanawa, Sam Taylor Wood, Ian Bostridge, Stella McCartney, Graham Vick, Willard White, Sean Bean, PD James, Brenda Blethyn, Eddie Izzard, the cast of Little Britain and Dame Edna Everage.

Attending this year and presenting awards are Jude Law, Sir James Galway, Darcy Bushell, Daniel Radcliffe and Eric Sykes.

Following their recording, this year's awards will transmit on ITV1 on Sunday 29th January at 10.45pm.

Share this!