Idlewild star compiles collaborations album

Idlewild frontman Roddy Woomble has created an album featuring collaborations with some of Scotland's best writers and musicians.

'Ballads Of The Book' will be out on 5th March on Chemikal Underground, with a concert taking place in Glasgow's Royal Concert Hall on 30th January. The live performances will include some of the songs from 'Ballads Of The Book' as well as the musicians' own material.

The tracklisting is:

Mike Heron & John Burnside – 'Song For Irena'
De Rosa & Michel Faber – 'Steam Comes Off Our House'
James Yorkston & Bill Duncan – 'A Calvinist Narrowly Avoids Pleasure'
Foxface & Rody Gorman – 'Dreamcatcher'
Lord Cut-Glass & Alasdair Gray – 'A Sentimental Song'
Aidan Moffat And The Best Ofs & Ian Rankin – 'The Sixth Stone'
Norman Blake & John Burnside – 'Girl'
Karine Polwart & Edwin Morgan – 'The Good Years'
Sons And Daughters & A L Kennedy – 'The War On Love Song'
Alasdair Roberts & Robin Robertson – 'The Leaving'
Strike The Colours & Rody Gorman – 'Message In A Bottle'
Aereogramme & Hal Duncan – 'If You Love Me You'd Destroy Me'
Malcolm Middleton & Alan Bissett – 'The Rebel On His Own Tonight'
Trashcan Sinatras & Ali Smith – 'Half An Apple'
Vashti Bunyan & Rodge Glass – 'The Fire'
King Creosote & Laura Hird – 'Where And When'
Emma Pollock & Louise Welsh – 'Jesus On The Cross'
Idlewild & Edwin Morgan – 'The Weight Of Years'

The album cover is an original, with specially commissioned artwork by Alasdair Gray. This is also set to be the subject of a film documentary, which will broadcasted by Scottish Television around the release date.
More details are available at link.

Share this!