Oh God! Here come the Brits!

Leading the nominations for the event on February 14th is Lily Allen, who’s out in front with three nominations — in the British Female, and MasterCard British album and British Breakthrough Act categories — as well as a shortlisting in the Best British Single category.

Muse and Gnarls Barkley are also likely to be celebrating with three apiece, in their respective group and album categories, as well as Muse fighting it out for the British Live Act and International Breakthrough Act for Gnarls Barkley.
Just behind them are Snow Patrol and James Morrison with two nominations and one shortlisting each for their super-successful singles, and Amy Winehouse who’s up for British Female as well as the MasterCard British Album.
In total, 46 artists are crossing their fingers in the lead up to the awards, but there are only 13 statuettes to give out.
At the official BRITs launch party, held at the glamorous Hammersmith Palais, it’s also announced who will be performing on the night. As usual, the biggest acts of the year will be up on stage at the glittering event, showcasing just how exciting music has been in the past year. The acts include rocking out The Killers, Snow Patrol and Red Hot Chili Peppers, as well as the smoother grooves of Corinne Bailey Rae and Take That. Former BRIT School pupil Amy Winehouse is sure to add some flavour, Scissor Sisters will provide outstanding entertainment and of course Oasis, recipients of the Outstanding Contribution To Music award, promise three of their finest classic songs.

British Male Solo Artist
James Morrison
Jarvis Cocker
Paolo Nutini
Thom Yorke XL

British Female Solo Artist
Amy Winehouse
Corinne Bailey Rae
Lily Allen
Nerina Pallot

British Group
Arctic Monkeys
Snow Patrol

MasterCard British Album
Amy Winehouse – Back To Black
Arctic Monkeys – Whatever people say I am, that’s what I’m not
Lily Allen – Alright Still
Muse – Black Holes & Revelations
Snow Patrol – Eyes Open

British Single
5 nominees decided by commercial radio hit40uk and The A List listeners.
Winner chosen by radio and TV viewing audience live on show night

British Breakthrough Act
*Winner chosen by Radio 1 listeners
Corinne Bailey Rae
James Morrison
Lily Allen

British Live Act
Nominees chosen by a panel of experts in association with The Live Music Forum. Winner chosen by Radio 2 listeners

George Michael
Robbie Williams

International Male Solo Artist
Bob Dylan
Damien Rice
Jack Johnson
Justin Timberlake

International Female Solo Artist
Cat Power
Christina Aguilera
Nelly Furtado

International Group
Flaming Lips
Gnarls Barkley
Red Hot Chili Peppers
Scissor Sisters

International Album
Bob Dylan – Modern Times
Gnarls Barkley – St Elsewhere
Justin Timberlake – FutureSex/LoveSounds Killers – Sam’sTown Scissor Sisters – Ta Dah Winner chosen by MTV Spanking New Music viewers

International Breakthrough Act
Gnarls Barkley
Ray Lamontagne

Outstanding Contribution to music

Share this!