The B-52's new record – release date and album title released

On 3rd March 2008, The B-52’s will release their first studio album in 16 years on EMI Records.

‘Funplex’, will be their first record on EMI Records. Produced by Steve Osborne (New Order, Happy Mondays, Doves, KT Tunstall) the new album is reportedly as cutting edge, distinctive and danceable as their self-titled debut album and hit single ‘Rock Lobster’ was in 1979.

Recorded in their native Athens, Georgia and with all 11 songs written by Kate Pierson, Fred Schneider, Keith Strickland and Cindy Wilson, The B-52's can lay claim to influencing such current bands as LCD Soundsystem, Interpol and Scissor Sisters. Guitarist Keith Strickland explains the new sound, “It’s loud, sexy rock and roll for your pleasure zones, with the beat pumped up to hot pink.”

The band have been touring non-stop, recently making a triumphant return to Europe after a 10 year absence, headlining Spain’s Benicassim Festival and Lovebox this past summer.

The B-52’s ‘Funplex’ Tracklist

Hot Corner
Juliet of the Spirits
Eyes Wide Open
Love in the Year 3000
Deviant Ingredient
Too Much to Think About
Dancing Now
Keep This Party Going

Eyes peeled 3rd March 2008

Share this!