Rhys Ifans has teamed up with Super Furry Animals' Dafydd Ieuan to form a new band. The Peth, also featuring Dic Ben, Kris Jenkins and Nick Hilton and two members of Welsh rock group Sibrydion are set to release their debut album 'The Golden Mile' on September 1. The band were formed in 2006, recording material written mainly by Ieuan. Ifans was in an early line-up of SFA alongside Ieuan. They had previously made an impression with the track ‘Let’s Go Fucking Mental’ which they uploaded onto their myspace page. 'The Golden Mile' album title refers to the mile between the group's studio and the Grangetown region of Cardiff. Tracks featured on the album include 'Stonefinger', 'Shoot On Sight (Flock Of Zeigheils)', 'Turbotank' and '69 Fanny Street'.

Early reports indicate that Ifans will bring squeeze Sienna Miller with him on tour which will force P.Diddy to come out of hiding in New York and tour the Welsh provinces himself as he attempts to outdo Ifans at every turn to win her back. Having already launched a acting career to compete with the gangly Welsh legend Diddy is apparently furious at this move into music buy his rival and has threatened to pack out bigger Welsh venues dressed in his infamous mink poncho to blend with the chavs. Stay tuned for further updates.

The Peth have announced they will perform at the following venues:

Portmeirion Town Hall (July 2)
Bala Golff Club (3)
Llanerfyl Village Hall (4)
Llanddewi Brefi Village Hall (5)
Cwmaman Institute (6)
London Hoxton Bar and Grill (10)

Share this!