Bob Dylan Announces New Album Release

Bob Dylan's Tell Tale Signs – the 8th instalment in the best-selling and critically lauded Bootleg Series which launched 1991 – will be released by Columbia Records on Monday, October 6. A treasure-trove of 27 songs spanning two discs, Tell Tale Signs features previously unreleased recordings and alternate versions of tracks from sessions which generated some of Bob Dylan's most acclaimed and commercially successful albums from the last two decades, including Time Out Of Mind, Love And Theft, Modern Times and Oh Mercy.

Last week also marked the launch of a completely redesigned as the ultimate platform for Bob Dylan fan interaction. The site encompasses music and images from every one of the artist's recordings, and enables fans to compare their personal journeys and geographies to that of Bob Dylan, who has traveled the world as a troubadour for more than 40 years. For a limited time, the site will also feature a free download of “Dreamin' Of You,” one of Tell Tale Signs' many previously unreleased gems. “Dreamin' Of You” is a fully-produced recording from Dylan's 1997 sessions with producer Daniel Lanois, which spawned Time Out Of Mind, the 1998 Grammy Award-winning Album Of The Year.

The two-CD Tell Tale Signs will feature a booklet of rare photos, extensive liner notes by author Larry “Ratso” Sloman, and complete recording credits. A limited-edition deluxe three-CD package of Tell Tale Signs will also be released on October 6, featuring all of the elements of the two-disc set, plus an exclusive bonus disc of 12 additional rare and unreleased recordings and a hardcover book of Bob Dylan singles artwork spanning his entire career. The three-CD package will be presented in a specially-designed hardcover slipcase.

The collection will also be released in a limited-edition 4-LP set, pressed on 180-gram vinyl, packaged in a 12″ X 12″ box, and including all of the elements of the two-CD set. Disc 1 of Tell Tale Signs will also be packaged in a stand-alone version, serving as a lower-priced introduction to The Bootleg Series for new fans.

Previously unreleased songs on Tell Tale Signs include “Red River Shore,” “Dreamin' of You,” and “Marchin' To The City” from the Time Out Of Mind sessions, plus “I Can't Escape From You,” “Duncan & Brady,” “Miss The Mississippi,” and “32-20 Blues”, Dylan's first ever release of a Robert Johnson song.

Tell Tale Signs also includes Bob Dylan recordings created for the motion picture soundtracks of “Lucky You” (“Huck's Tune”), “Gods & Generals” (“'Cross The Green Mountain”) and “North Country” (an alternate take of “Tell Ol' Bill”).

Rounding out Tell Tale Signs is a selection of outstanding live performances, including “Girl From The Greenbriar Shore” from 1991; and a consummate rendering of “High Water (for Charley Patton)” from Niagara in 2003.

Share this!