Winners of the Irish Festival Awards announced

The winners of the Irish Festival Awards 2008 have been announced.

The Electric Picnic, Oxegen, Kings Of Leon and Lovebox are among the winners, which have been compiled from over 11,000 online votes cast in December and January.

The brainchild of Cherrycool promotions, who are also responsible for the annual Castlepalooza fest and the infamous NYE Glimmerball event at Charlville Castle.

Cherrycool have decided to exclude their own festival from nomination and the full list of 2008 winners are below:

Best Large Festival: Electric Picnic

Best Medium Festival: Festival of World Cultures

Best Small Festival sponsored by EQ Audio: Knockanstocken

Best Dance Festival: Planet Love

Best Traditional Festival: Temple Bar Trad Festival

Best New Festival: Carlsberg Comedy

Best One Day Festival: Lovebox

Best Lineup: Oxegen

Best Rock Act: Rage Against the Machine

Best Headline Act: Kings of Leon

Best Alternative Act: Sigur Ros

Best Dance Act: The Chemical Brothers

Best Irish Act: The Script

Social Responsibility Award: Hard Working Class Heroes

Greenest Festival: Electric Picnic

Share this!