Homepage Splash


Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott have taken a break from the 24 hour news feed of misery and despair to record a seasonal song to put a smile on our faces.  Entitled ‘Christmas (And Dad Wants Her Back)’ it’s available today (Nov 19th) on the EMI label.  The song, written by Paul Heaton (Q’s All-Time Classic Songwriter!), is a typically wry take on a relationship in turmoil during the festive season and features a rollicking brass band section arranged and composed by Guy Barker.

 Says Paul Heaton: “I wanted to write a song, outside the usual cosiness that bedecks most Christmas singles. Perhaps a song that records some of the calamities that certain single parents face on the day itself; burnt dinners, toppled trees, disappointed children, and most importantly, loneliness.”

‘Christmas (And Dad Wants Her Back)’ will also feature on the special Double Deluxe edition of Paul and Jacqui’s acclaimed number one album ‘Manchester Calling’, which will be released on December 4th and includes eight new songs.  The full tracklisting of ‘Manchester Calling’ Double Deluxe is:

 CD 1

1.  The Only Exercise I Get Is You

2.  If You Could See Your Faults

3.  Somebody’s Superhero

4.  Big News In A Little World

5.  You And Me (Were Meant To Be Together)

6.  The Outskirts Of The Dancefloor

7.  So Happy

8.  A Good Day Is Hard To Find

9.  Fat Of The Land

10. All Of My Friends

11. The Prison

12. House Party 2

13. He’s Got What I Had

14. New York Ivy

15. MCR Calling

16. My Legal High

CD 2

1.  Christmas  (And Dad Wants Her Back)

2.  Nearly Once

3.  Higher Hopes

4.  That’ll Be Us

5.  Gotta Give It Up

6.  Wanted For Murder

7.  It Ain’t Yours Anymore

8.  I Know The Man

9.  Christmas (2019 Version)

Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott‘s fourth studio album ‘Manchester Calling’ which was released on Friday 6th March, entered the UK official album chart at No 1, Paul & Jacqui’s first No 1 album as a duo. As members of the Beautiful South they reached the No 1 slot in the albums chart three times with Carry On Up The Charts: The Best Of (’94), Blue Is The Colour (’96), and Quench (’98).

Paul Heaton is one of the UK’s most consistently successful songwriters. His total sales across his catalogue (The Housemartins, The Beautiful South, Solo, and Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott) is 8.7 million in the UK, and 12 million globally.  Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott‘s previously announced tour of the UK and Ireland, including three free shows for NHS and care workers, has been rescheduled to 2021.  As with the previous live shows, Paul & Jacqui have requested that the ticket price for the tour remains at £30. A full list of all tour dates is below. 


Fri 2nd             GALWAY Leisureland
Sat 3rd            BELFAST Ulster Hall 
Sun 4th            KILLARNEY INEC
Tues 6th           BALLYBOFEY Balor Arts Centre
Wed 7th            DUBLIN 3Arena
Tues 13th         DUNDEE Caird Hall
Thurs 15th       GLASGOW SEC Armadillo 
Fri 16th            NEWCASTLE Utilita Arena  
Sat 17th           LIVERPOOL M&S Arena                                             
Mon 19th          CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena
Tue 20st          HULL Bonus Arena 
Wed 21st          HULL Bonus Arena 
Fri 23rd             BIRMINGHAM Arena 
Sat 24th            STOKE-ON-TRENT Victoria Hall
Mon 26th          LONDON The SSE Arena, Wembley [Free concert for NHS workers]
Tues 27th        LEICESTER De Montfort Hall 
Thurs 29th        NOTTINGHAM Motorpoint Arena [Free concert for NHS workers] 

Sat 1st              LEEDS First Direct Arena
Sun 2nd            SHEFFIELD City Hall [Free concert for care workers]
Mon 10th          LONDON Palladium
Tues 11th         LONDON Palladium 

Remaining tickets for the tour are available from www.gigsandtours.com

Share this!