GILT release ‘In Windows (Ignore What’s Missing)’

GILT have undergone an evolution. The Floridian trio’s line-up has shifted with drummer Ash Stixx moving on to vocal duties. Their delivery is emotive and ethereal, anchoring the band within a beautiful post-hardcore soundscape. Today, GILT self-release their new single  ‘In Windows (Ignore What’s Missing)’ – the first music they’ve released with Stixx on vocals. The track features on the band’s forthcoming EP ‘In Windows, Through Mirrors’, a stunning collection which will see a limited cassette tape release on Knifepunch Records (US) and Hunkofplastic Records (UK). The EP, set for release 11 November, was recorded by Lee Dyess at Earthsound Studios and Hansel Romero in Baltimore, mixed by Hansel Romero, and mastered by Matt Goings.

“‘In Windows (Ignore What’s Missing)’ is about misplaced priorities, pride, and standing in your own way,” say GILT of their new single. “The song was originally the title track of our debut album, but after bringing our former drummer Ash Stixx up front for vocals, we realized how powerful their take on it was and how much the song had changed. Hansel Romero was the perfect producer to push Ash’s vocal range but they also helped us get much heavier guitar tones and make the breakdown more devastating. The ‘In Windows’ video, shot with the help of our friend Cole Kubizne, sees Ash exploring the idea of painful growth in physical spaces both light and dark. We tried to make it clear that it wasn’t about one side dominating, as much as it is letting yourself be confident and doing what you need to heal, which is why we pulled in nature imagery both soft and sharp, as well as physical damage.”

Navigating topics of gender dysphoria, body dysmorphia and mental health in their music, GILT are all about empowering their community. The band put together a livestream event during the pandemic – SnipFest – which raised money for gender-affirming legal name changes for people across the US. Born in 2018, SnipFest’s first incarnation raised money for the top surgery of a friend of the band. 

GILT will be touring in the US around their new EP’s release. Stay tuned for further music from the band and tour dates across the globe in 2022. 

‘In Windows, Through Mirrors’ EP Track listing:
1. In Windows (Ignore What’s Missing
2. Long Time Coming
3. Through Mirrors (I Didn’t Want You As A Mirror)

GILT are:
Ash Stixx (they/she/he) – Vocals
Tyler Fieldhouse (they/them) – Guitar, Bass
Tilley Komorny (she/her) – Guitar

Share this!