WEATHERSTATE announce their new album ‘Never Better’

Weatherstate have announced that their second album ‘Never Better’ will be released 11 February via Rude Records. The follow-up to 2019’s ‘Born A Cynic’, ‘Never Better’ is a timely commentary, stemming from a place of monotony, helplessness, and apathy to the state of the world around us. Says vocalist and guitarist Harry Hoskins: “The record reaches out to different feelings that many of us have experienced over the last few years, from a state of mind that is pessimistic when faced with the question “will things ever improve?””

The Weymouth punks have released another single alongside the announcement. ‘Panic Attack’ summarises the feeling of anxiety you get after snapping yourself out of the bubble of living a life on autopilot. Guitarist Callan Milward says: “Living week by week with the exact same routine can grind you down even though it can also feel like the safest and/or easiest option at the time. Breaking the mould and expanding your horizons is so important to grow and reach your full potential, but it’s easier said than done. I can sympathise with anyone who sticks with their home comforts as a way of getting by. Sometimes getting stuck in your own head and overthinking how you need to change things up can be half the battle, so sometimes you’ve got to just take it easy on yourself.”

Weatherstate’s recent singles ‘Never Getting Better’‘Current Dose’ and ‘Hangar’ will all feature on ‘Never Better’. The album was moulded by Covid-induced remote sessions collaborating with Four Year Strong’s Alan Day and Neil Kennedy at The Ranch. “All I can say is that you can work miracles over Zoom these days,” mused Milward of the process. 2020 saw Weatherstate return to live music with aplomb at Slam Dunk Festival where the band found themselves performing directly before special surprise guests McFly! There will be further opportunity to see the band play their new material live in the coming months including at Teddy Rocks Festival on 30 April 2022. 

‘Never Better’ tracklisting:
2. Hangar
3. Normality
4. Panic Attack
5. Here In My Hell
6. Pity Lines
7. Down
8. Current Dose
9. Headstone 
10. Never Getting Better
11. Dead Space

Share this!