HINAKO OMORI shares 食品まつり a.k.a foodman version of “Levitation”

Today Hinako Omori has shared a second track from her forthcoming EP release ‘a journey with friends…’, which will be released on July 29th via Houndstooth. The EP sees Omori invite peers to rework the delicate, soothing sounds on her recent album ‘a journey…’ and this latest track comes alongside the news that she will join the line-up at Visions Festival in East London this Saturday, July 23rd.

In the new track shared today, Japanese producer 食品まつり a.k.a foodman has given ethereal, dreamlike song Levitation a beat-based rework, commenting: “I remixed Levitation and I felt the synthesiser sound of the track had a rhythmic feel to it, so I wanted to add my minimal percussion sounds to it to create a different look, it also felt like I was doing a session with Hinako. I also used the log drums used in amapiano to create a fast amapiano feel.”

Omori adds: “I’m a huge fan of Foodman’s beautifully unique and eclectic sound worlds – his productions span such a magical variety of moods, rhythms and bpms, taking us through every emotion possible… every time I’ve had the honour of seeing his shows, he’s taken us on a wild and exhilarating adventure! I’ve always wanted to collaborate with Foodman, so I was so happy to hear that he was up for working on a remix of Levitation.

I’m in awe of how he completely transformed the droning slow nature of Levitation into a high energy amapiano-style track, hearing rhythms in the synth stems that I hadn’t heard before…”

Other pre-save & purchase links:
Hear the original album ‘a journey…’ here:

Earlier this year London-based artist Hinako Omori released her debut full-length album, ‘a journey…’ via Houndstooth to high critical acclaim. ‘a journey…’ saw Omori experimenting with the physical and psychological effects of different frequencies, meditating on healing and soothing sounds and taking inspiration from the Japanese practice of shinrin-yoku, or forest-bathing.

On ‘a journey with friends…’, the tracks offered a new perspective from Patricia Wolf, Matt Robertson, Akiko Haruna, Foodman and Coby Sey, as well as one track re-worked by Hinako herself. Speaking on the collaborations, she comments: “I am very happy and honoured to collaborate with close friends and favourite artists, and hearing reimagined versions of the album tracks being taken on an entirely new journey has been magical.”

 ‘a journey with friends…’ track list:

  1. Hinako Omori – Ocean (Patricia Wolf Remix)
  2. Hinako Omori – A Journey (Matt Robertson Remix)
  3. Hinako Omori – The Richest Garden in your Memory (Akiko Haruna Remix)
  4. Hinako Omori – Levitation (Foodman Remix)
  5. Hinako Omori – Heartplant Revisited
  6. Hinako Omori – Ocean (Coby Sey Remix)

Share this!